EasyModeTrip

Phone data in China: roaming, eSIM or Chinese SIM?

Last verified 9 October 2026 against official sources.

Phone data in China: roaming, eSIM or Chinese SIM?

Quick answer

Most visitors are best served by a travel eSIM bought before the trip: it costs a few dollars to the low tens, and Google and WhatsApp usually work on it. Check your own carrier first — some plans include China. A Chinese SIM is cheap and gives you a +86 number, but blocked services won't work on its data.

To use Google, WhatsApp, Instagram and other blocked services in mainland China without installing anything, your mobile data needs to leave China through a foreign network. Roaming on your home SIM and most travel eSIMs do that; a Chinese SIM card and hotel Wi-Fi don't. Here's how the options compare, with prices we checked on 2026-10-09.

Prices change often — confirm in your carrier's or provider's app before you travel. Easy Mode Trip doesn't earn commission from any provider on this page.

The three options

Home roamingTravel eSIMChinese SIM
Google, WhatsApp work?Usually yesUsually yes (check the provider says so)No
Typical costFrom free (some plans) to about US$10–12 / £7–8 a dayAbout US$4–17 for 1–10 GB; unlimited from about US$11.50 for 3 daysCheap; e.g. Shanghai China Telecom tourist SIM from CNY 85 for 7 days
SetupTurn on a pass in your carrier app before you flyBuy and install before you fly; switch on when you landAirport counter on arrival; original passport and real-name registration
Chinese (+86) number?NoNo (data only)Yes — helps with SMS codes for some Chinese apps
Best forShort trips, or if your plan includes ChinaMost visitorsLong stays where you need a local number

How to choose

Roaming with your home carrier

What major carriers charge for data in mainland China. Tap a country to expand.

United States (4)

T-Mobile — Included in plan (215+ countries benefit; China eligible)

  • Price: US$0 extra (included in postpaid plan)
  • Data: Experience Beyond/Go5G Next: 15GB high-speed; Experience More/Go5G Plus/Magenta MAX: 5GB high-speed; Go5G/Magenta/older plans: unlimited at 256kbps only; Essentials: no included data
  • Speed limits: After high-speed allotment, unlimited at up to 256kbps
  • How it starts: Automatic on eligible postpaid plans; SMS alerts at 80%/100% of high-speed data
  • Without a pass: Texts free; calls US$0.50/min (Wi-Fi calls to US/CA/MX free)

Source: t-mobile.com, checked 2026-10-09

T-Mobile — International Pass (1-day / 10-day / 30-day) Check before you go

  • Price: US$5 (1 day) / US$50 (10 days) / US$75 (30 days) — note: several June 2026 reports say the 1-day pass is now US$10 for 2GB; T-Mobile's China page still showed US$5/512MB. Check in the T-Life app.
  • Data: 512MB / 15GB / 30GB high-speed, plus unlimited calling
  • Speed limits: After pass allotment, back to plan speed (256kbps on plans with intl data; 128kbps on plans without)
  • How it starts: Opt-in: buy in T-Life app, My T-Mobile, via welcome SMS link on arrival, or dial 611 before the trip
  • Without a pass: Without a pass, the plan roaming benefit applies (calls US$0.50/min, texts free)

Source: t-mobile.com, checked 2026-10-09

AT&T — International Day Pass Check before you go

  • Price: US$12/day first line
  • Data: Uses your domestic plan's data, talk and text allowance
  • Speed limits: Same as domestic plan (no separate roaming cap documented in sources found)
  • How it starts: Must be added to the line (myAT&T) before travel; once added, charged automatically only on days the phone is used abroad (24-hour periods from first use); billing capped at ~10 charges per bill cycle
  • Without a pass: Without Day Pass: ~US$2.05/MB data, ~US$3.00/min voice

Source: travelren.com, checked 2026-10-09

Verizon — TravelPass (daily)

  • Price: US$12/day per line (only on days used)
  • Data: Uses plan data; 5GB high-speed per TravelPass session
  • Speed limits: After 5GB, unlimited at 3G speeds for rest of session
  • How it starts: Opt-in: text TRAVEL to 4004 or add in My Verizon; included automatically with Unlimited Plus and Unlimited Welcome (not Unlimited Ultimate)
  • Without a pass: Pay-as-you-go China (official pricing table, column mapping inferred): ~US$1.79/min voice, ~US$2.05/MB data

Source: verizon.com, checked 2026-10-09

United Kingdom (4)

EE — Rest of World Zone 1 daily charge / Zone 1 pass Unconfirmed

  • Price: £6/day or £30 for 7 days; EE's Apr 2024 price guide listed a £8.45/day Travel Data Pass (500MB)
  • Data: Uses your UK allowance; older Travel Data Pass gave 500MB/day
  • How it starts: Text ROAM/ROAMING to 150 before travel; on arrival EE texts pass options, bought at add-on.ee.co.uk (passes reportedly purchasable only after arriving)
  • Without a pass: Pay-as-you-go: calls ~£1.80/min, texts ~60p; PAYG can buy a 500MB data add-on ~£3

Source: billshock.co.uk, checked 2026-10-09

Vodafone UK — Zone D daily roaming charge (out-of-bundle) Check before you go

  • Price: £8/day (from 14 Apr 2026; was £7.86) for plans since 11 Aug 2021
  • Data: Uses UK plan allowances, subject to 25GB/month roaming fair use
  • How it starts: Automatic daily charge when the phone is used abroad; alternatively buy a roaming Extra in My Vodafone
  • Without a pass: Pay as you go Plus must add a roaming Extra; other PAYG pays a daily charge (amount for China not found; see Roaming Charge Checker)

Source: vodafone.co.uk, checked 2026-10-09

O2 — O2 Travel Bolt On (Zones 1 & 2)

  • Price: £7/day (only on days used); Bolt On free to add
  • Data: No fixed allowance; unlimited minutes, texts and data from plan
  • Speed limits: Speeds limited to 2Mbps
  • How it starts: Opt-in: add the Bolt On in My O2 (Pay Monthly) before travel; daily rate ends at midnight UK time
  • Without a pass: Pay As You Go tariffs not eligible; standard international roaming rates apply (not quantified on page)

Source: o2.co.uk, checked 2026-10-09

Three UK — Go Roam Around the World Extra (daily charge or multi-day pass)

  • Price: £8/day (joined/upgraded on or after 18 Dec 2025, from 1 Apr 2026); £7/day (joined 1 Oct 2021-17 Dec 2025); passes £17.50 (3 days), £29.75 (5), £42 (7), £84 (14)
  • Data: Up to 12GB of UK data allowance per month (fair use, Pay Monthly)
  • How it starts: Automatic: daily charge unlocks allowances for 24 hours when the phone is used abroad (Spend Cap must cover it); passes opt-in via My3/app
  • Without a pass: Out-of-allowance roaming rates on Three's China page: £6.00/MB data, £3.00/min calls, £1.25/min receiving, 50p/text

Source: three.co.uk, checked 2026-10-09

Canada (3)

Rogers — Roam Like Home International (daily) / International Travel Pass Check before you go

  • Price: C$18/day + tax (daily); Travel Pass International: C$45 (3 days) / C$75 (7) / C$100 (14) / C$120 (30)
  • Data: Uses your Canadian plan's data, talk and text
  • How it starts: Confirm enrolment by text (TRAVEL); daily fee charged automatically per calendar day used (ET), max 20 days per bill cycle; Travel Pass bought in advance (up to 60 days ahead)

Source: rogers.com, checked 2026-10-09

Bell — Roam Better (daily) / Asia Travel Pass Check before you go

  • Price: C$16/day (international); Asia Travel Pass C$75 (14 days) / C$90 (30 days)
  • Data: Uses rate plan data; Roam Better: 5GB/day high-speed
  • Speed limits: After 5GB/day, up to 512kbps (resets 12:00 a.m. ET); extra 1GB high-speed purchasable
  • How it starts: Opt-in: add Roam Better in MyBell or text ROAM to 8000; Asia pass via text ASIA14/ASIA30 to 4400 (activates immediately when added)
  • Without a pass: Pay-per-use DATA roaming discontinued as of 1 May 2026; calls/texts still pay-per-use

Source: bell.ca, checked 2026-10-09

Telus — Easy Roam International (daily) Unconfirmed

  • Price: C$18/day; some 5G+ Complete plans list Easy Roam from C$5/day outside the US
  • Data: Uses your Canadian plan data
  • Speed limits: Reduced to max 512kbps after included high-speed bucket
  • How it starts: Easy Roam daily charge on first use abroad; 7/14/30-day travel passes also offered (prices not found)

Source: mobilesyrup.com, checked 2026-10-09

Australia (3)

Telstra — International Roaming Day Pass (Zone 2)

  • Price: A$10/day
  • Data: 2GB/day plus unlimited standard calls and SMS
  • Speed limits: When 2GB used, buy Data Top-Up 2GB for A$10 (valid 31 days)
  • How it starts: Opt-in: turn on Day Pass in My Telstra before you fly; activates when the service is used in an eligible destination
  • Without a pass: Pay-as-you-go (if Day Pass not used): A$3/MB data, 75c/SMS, voice per country (China A$3.50/min)

Source: telstra.com.au, checked 2026-10-09

Optus — Optus Daily Roaming (Choice Plus plans) / $10 Roaming Pass (selected older postpaid)

  • Price: A$5 per 24h (Daily Roaming); A$10 per 24h (Roaming Pass)
  • Data: Daily Roaming: 5GB per 24h + unlimited standard talk/text; Roaming Pass: 1GB per 24h
  • Speed limits: Daily Roaming auto-charges another A$5 for 5GB when 5GB is used
  • How it starts: Daily Roaming automatic on first use in Zone 1 (Choice Plus); Roaming Pass must be turned on in My Optus app
  • Without a pass: Postpaid PAYG ~A$1/MB data

Source: optus.com.au, checked 2026-10-09

Vodafone Australia — $5 Roaming Check before you go

  • Price: A$5/day extra (only on days used)
  • Data: Uses plan's included data, calls and texts (excludes speed-capped data at 1.5/2/10/25Mbps)
  • Speed limits: Speed-capped 'unlimited' data not usable while on $5 Roaming
  • How it starts: Automatic when the phone is used in an eligible destination with roaming on (eligible postpaid plans)
  • Without a pass: Pay-as-you-go: A$1/MB data, A$1/min calls, A$0.75/SMS; prepaid add-ons A$5/1 day 1GB, A$15/3 days 3GB, A$35/7 days 7GB

Source: vodafone.com.au, checked 2026-10-09

South Korea (4)

SK Telecom — baro roaming plan (global multi-day pass, 195 countries incl. China; no country-specific plan) Check before you go

  • Price: KRW 39,000 (6GB) / 59,000 (12GB) / 79,000 (24GB) / 99,000 (48GB); a 3GB/KRW 29,000 tier was listed in late 2025. Up to +16GB bonus promo extended to 2026-12-31; family sharing add-on KRW 3,000
  • Data: 6-48GB high-speed per pass (plus promo bonus); under-34 'baro YT' variants get +1GB
  • Speed limits: Continues at up to 1 Mbps after allowance (2026 reports; Dec 2025 SKT newsroom said 400 kbps)
  • How it starts: Opt-in: subscribe via T world / T roaming app or 114 before or during travel; valid up to 30 days

Source: news.mtn.co.kr, checked 2026-10-09

KT — China/Japan Value Roaming (중국/일본 알뜰 로밍) 5-day pass

  • Price: KRW 25,000 / 5 days
  • Data: 3GB total + 30 min calls
  • Speed limits: Throttled to 'KakaoTalk-capable speed' after 3GB
  • How it starts: Opt-in subscription before travel (KT roaming site/app, 114)
  • Without a pass: No plan: KRW 0.275 per 0.5KB, auto-capped at KRW 11,000/day then 200 kbps for rest of day; calls KRW 1.98/sec (~119/min), SMS KRW 22

Source: globalroaming.kt.com, checked 2026-10-09

KT — Together Roaming (함께 쓰는 로밍) 30-day shared data pass

  • Price: KRW 33,000 (5GB) / 44,000 (10GB) / 66,000 (20GB) / 77,000 (40GB); under-35 'Y' version from KRW 19,800 (6GB)
  • Data: 5-40GB, shareable by up to 5 lines, 30 days
  • Speed limits: KakaoTalk-capable speed after allowance
  • How it starts: Opt-in before travel via KT roaming site/app
  • Without a pass: Same as KT entry above (KRW 11,000/day cap then 200 kbps)

Source: globalroaming.kt.com, checked 2026-10-09

LG U+ — U+ Roaming Pass (로밍패스, 83 countries incl. China) Check before you go

  • Price: KRW 29,000 (4GB) / 44,000 (raised by 4GB on 2026-05-01; exact total not confirmed) / 59,000 (25GB) / 79,000 (49GB)
  • Data: 4-49GB per pass, up to 30 days; shareable with up to 5 U+ family lines
  • Speed limits: Up to 400 kbps after allowance
  • How it starts: Opt-in subscription; since July 2026 the pass starts automatically on first network attach abroad

Source: etoday.co.kr, checked 2026-10-09

Japan (4)

NTT docomo — Sekai Sonomama Giga (世界そのままギガ) - uses domestic data allowance abroad

  • Price: JPY 980 / 24h; 1h JPY 200; 3 days JPY 2,480; 7 days JPY 5,280 (tax-exempt)
  • Data: Draws from the domestic plan's monthly data allowance
  • Speed limits: Domestic plan's own limits apply
  • How it starts: Opt-in: apply (reservation possible) via My docomo; requires WORLD WING
  • Without a pass: Sekai Giga Shihodai (no application): max JPY 1,980/day up to ~24.4MB, max JPY 2,980/day cap; outside flat-rate countries JPY 1.6/KB

Source: docomo.ne.jp, checked 2026-10-09

NTT docomo — docomo MAX / Poi-katsu MAX plan - overseas data included

  • Price: Included in monthly plan fee (no extra charge)
  • Data: Up to 30GB/month for up to 15 days abroad (official page says rising to 40GB/month from 2026-12-01)
  • Speed limits: 1 Mbps after 30GB; 128 kbps after 15 days abroad until back in Japan
  • How it starts: Automatic, no procedure needed (WORLD WING required)
  • Without a pass: N/A while within allowance; Sekai Giga Shihodai/Sonomama Giga cannot be used on top

Source: docomo.ne.jp, checked 2026-10-09

au (KDDI) — au Kaigai Hodai (au海外放題) - unlimited data day pass Check before you go

  • Price: JPY 1,000 / 24h with advance reservation (China is in the 1,000-yen tier; 800-yen tier is US/Hawaii/Korea etc.); JPY 1,200 / 24h without reservation; eligible au plans get 15 days/month free
  • Data: Unlimited
  • Speed limits: Speed may be limited after heavy use in a set period (no figure published)
  • How it starts: Reserve in app for 1-30 days (auto start/stop), or without reservation tap start in arrival SMS (1-8 days)
  • Without a pass: Kaigai Double Teigaku: max JPY 1,980/day up to ~24.4MB, max JPY 2,980/day

Source: k-wifi.com, checked 2026-10-09

SoftBank — Kaigai Anshin Teigaku (海外あんしん定額) - Teigaku-koku L

  • Price: JPY 980 / 24h (tax-exempt); multi-day 1-31 days at JPY 980/day
  • Data: Unlimited
  • Speed limits: Planned: 4.5 Mbps after 10GB in a 24h period (from spring 2027)
  • How it starts: Opt-in: requires Sekai Taio Keitai; select plan and tap start in the SMS received on arrival (charge starts at that point)
  • Without a pass: Legacy Kaigai Packet Shihodai (auto-applied, being discontinued from Dec 2026): up to JPY 2,980/day

Source: softbank.jp, checked 2026-10-09

Singapore (3)

Singtel — ReadyRoam Asia (30-day regional pass) Check before you go

  • Price: SGD 18
  • Data: 6GB / 30 days; buy a second pack within 30 days for unlimited data after 12GB
  • Speed limits: No throttle stated; when exhausted the same pack is auto-added at the same rate
  • How it starts: Buy in My Singtel app; free AutoReadyRoam auto-activates the cheapest applicable pass when roaming on preferred networks
  • Without a pass: Not confirmed for China

Source: singtel.com, checked 2026-10-09

StarHub — DataTravel Asia-Pacific Check before you go

  • Price: SGD 6 (1GB/3 days), SGD 16 (2GB/30 days), SGD 20 (3GB/30 days); 4x data promo until 2026-12-31: 8GB for SGD 16, 12GB for SGD 20
  • Data: 1-12GB depending on pack (with promo)
  • How it starts: Opt-in purchase via My StarHub app; postpaid
  • Without a pass: SGD 10 per 100MB plus 20% surcharge in China if no pack

Source: starhub.com, checked 2026-10-09

M1 — Worldwide Daily Passport

  • Price: SGD 0.99 per 24h (charged only on days data is used)
  • Data: 3GB per 24h; another 3GB block auto-added at SGD 0.99 if exceeded
  • Speed limits: None stated (new block instead)
  • How it starts: Automatic charge on roaming data use; eligible Bespoke SIM-only lines and Bespoke Flexi new sign-ups/recontracts from 2026-04-22

Source: m1.com.sg, checked 2026-06-03

Malaysia (2)

Maxis — 1 Day Unlimited Data Pass / 7 Days APAC Data Pass

  • Price: RM 29 per day; RM 69 / 7 days (APAC); RM 99 / 15 days and RM 149 / 30 days multi-country
  • Data: 'Unlimited' 4G/5G
  • Speed limits: not stated on official page
  • How it starts: 1-day pass auto-activates when roaming data use reaches a preset level; multi-day passes bought in Maxis app; postpaid

Source: maxis.com.my, checked 2026-10-09

CelcomDigi — Asia roaming pass (prepaid) Check before you go

  • Price: RM 30 / 3 days; RM 50 / 7 days; Worldwide RM 60 / 7 days (20GB), RM 100 / 14 days, RM 130 / 30 days (90GB)
  • Data: Asia 3-day 5GB; 7-day 8GB
  • Speed limits: Data stops when high-speed quota is used; 5GB add-on RM 10/24h
  • How it starts: Pre-book up to 14 days ahead in CelcomDigi app or dial *800# overseas

Source: celcomdigi.com, checked 2026-10-09

Germany (3)

Telekom — Travel & Surf country pass China/Hong Kong/Macau (Ländergruppe 3) Check before you go

  • Price: EUR 6.95 (2-DayPass, 1GB) / 15.95 (WeekPass, 2.5GB) / 29.95 (2-WeekPass, 10GB China pass) / 49.95 (4-WeekPass, 25GB China pass)
  • Data: 1-25GB depending on pass
  • Speed limits: No throttle: data connection is cut when volume or time is used up; rebook another pass
  • How it starts: Reserve before travel on pass.telekom.de (auto-activates on first attach abroad) or book via SMS link on arrival
  • Without a pass: Ländergruppe 3: data only usable with a pass (or World Roaming Data option)

Source: assets.ctfassets.net, checked 2026-01-01

Vodafone DE — ReisePaket World Tag (day) / Woche (week)

  • Price: EUR 9.99 per German calendar day; EUR 34.99 per 7 days
  • Data: Day: 500MB + 50 min + 50 SMS; Week: 4GB + 50 min/day + 50 SMS/day
  • Speed limits: No throttle; extra data billed at EUR 0.20/MB
  • How it starts: Day pack preset in most tariffs and starts automatically on first use in China; Week pack opt-in via SMS 'Paket7' to 70127 or MeinVodafone app
  • Without a pass: Without package: Vodafone World Data per-50KB rates (EUR 0.20-1.18 per 50KB depending on zone; China's zone not confirmed)

Source: vodafone.de, checked 2026-10-09

O2 DE — Roaming Plus World Pack Check before you go

  • Price: EUR 14.99 per month
  • Data: 2GB, valid 1 month
  • Speed limits: No further data after 2GB until a paid rebook (SMS notice)
  • How it starts: Opt-in in Mein o2 / app; starts the calendar day after booking; for o2 Mobile, Grow, Free tariffs
  • Without a pass: Weltzone 4: EUR 1.49 per MB

Source: teltarif.de, checked 2026-08-04

France (4)

Orange — Pass Voyage 1 (69-75 destinations incl. China) Check before you go

  • Price: EUR 9.99 (unlimited data, 3 days); EUR 29.99 (unlimited data + 30 min + 50 SMS, 10 days); also 31-day 50GB and unlimited+2h+100 SMS tiers (prices not confirmed)
  • Data: Unlimited (3- and 10-day passes) or 50GB/31 days
  • How it starts: Opt-in: buy in Orange et moi app/site, choose start date (recommended day before arrival); not auto-renewed; Orange/Sosh postpaid only
  • Without a pass: Not found for China; Orange 'Connexion 24h' (EUR 8.99/24h auto) currently rolled out only for USA/Canada

Source: boutique.orange.fr, checked 2026-10-09

SFR — Pack Séjour Asie-Océanie Check before you go

  • Price: EUR 35 / 30 days
  • Data: 5GB + 30 min + 30 SMS (some sources say 10GB)
  • How it starts: Opt-in; choose start date at purchase; not auto-renewed
  • Without a pass: Asia/Oceania zone: EUR 13.20 per MB; calls EUR 2.90/min out, 1.32/min in; SMS EUR 0.66

Source: jechange.fr, checked 2026-08-21

Free Mobile — Included in plan: Forfait Free Max (unlimited) / Forfait Free 5G+ (35GB abroad)

  • Price: Free Max EUR 29.99/month (EUR 19.99 with Freebox); Forfait Free 5G+ EUR 19.99/month
  • Data: Free Max: unlimited data in China; Forfait Free 5G+: 35GB/month abroad pool
  • Speed limits: No fair-use cap stated on official Free Max page
  • How it starts: Automatic - included in plan, no pass needed
  • Without a pass: Not found

Source: mobile.free.fr, checked 2026-10-09

Bouygues Telecom — Pass Confort (Pass internet voyage) Check before you go

  • Price: EUR 35 / 30 days
  • Data: 10GB
  • How it starts: Activates automatically on first data use on arrival (after purchase); usable within 2 months of purchase; SMS confirmation

Source: assistance.bouyguestelecom.fr, checked 2026-10-09

Travel eSIMs for China

Buy and install these at home while you still have normal internet, then turn the eSIM on when you land. Your phone must support eSIM and be carrier-unlocked.

Airalo

1 GB · 7 days · US$53 GB · 30 days · US$11.505 GB · 30 days · US$16.50Unlimited · 3 days · US$11.50Unlimited · 5 days · US$19Unlimited · 7 days · US$27
  • Google & WhatsApp: Yes — the provider says Google and WhatsApp work
  • Network in China: China Unicom (listed on Airalo China page)
  • Limits: Airalo unlimited policy: >3 GB in a 24h day -> 1 Mbps for rest of that day (package-specific thresholds may differ and are shown before purchase)

Source: airalo.com, checked 2026-10-09

Holafly

Unlimited · 3 days · US$11.90Unlimited · 5 days · US$20.50Unlimited · 7 days · US$27.50
  • Google & WhatsApp: Yes — the provider says Google and WhatsApp work
  • Network in China: China Mobile (CMCC)
  • Limits: Operator fair-usage policy may temporarily reduce speed for no more than one day, resets next day (no GB threshold stated). Includes 1 GB/month 'Always On' backup data.

Source: esim.holafly.com, checked 2026-10-09

Nomad

1 GB · 7 days · US$43 GB · 30 days · US$95 GB · 30 days · US$13.5010 GB · 30 days · US$17Unlimited · 3 days · US$12Unlimited · 5 days · US$18Unlimited · 7 days · US$25
  • Google & WhatsApp: Yes — the provider says Google and WhatsApp work
  • Network in China: China Unicom or China Telecom (some plans multi-network)
  • Limits: Nomad daily-type plans: after daily high-speed allowance, 512 kbps; resets every 24h. Per-day GB for China 'Unlimited' not stated on page.

Source: nomadesim.com, checked 2026-10-09

Saily Check before you go

1 GB · 7 days · US$4.493 GB · 30 days · US$10.995 GB · 30 days · US$15.9910 GB · 30 days · US$26.99
  • Google & WhatsApp: Not stated by the provider
  • Network in China: Not stated
  • Limits: 'Unlimited' = 5 GB/day high speed, then 1 kbps (effectively cut off until reset)

Source: esimdb.com, checked 2026-10-04

Ubigi Check before you go

3 GB · 30 days · US$710 GB · 30 days · US$1725 GB · 30 days · US$35Unlimited · 8 days · US$24Unlimited · 15 days · US$48
  • Google & WhatsApp: Not stated by the provider
  • Network in China: Not stated
  • Limits: After the high-data allowance speed drops to 2 Mbps

Source: cellulardata.ubigi.com, checked 2026-10-09

Yesim

1 GB · 30 days · US$3.363 GB · 30 days · US$8.405 GB · 30 days · US$13.2010 GB · 30 days · US$22.32
  • Google & WhatsApp: Yes — the provider says Google and WhatsApp work
  • Network in China: Not stated
  • Limits: No China unlimited plan listed; FAQ says unlimited plans are throttled after an unstated daily limit

Source: yesim.app, checked 2026-10-09

aloSIM Unconfirmed

1 GB · 7 days · US$4.502 GB · 15 days · US$83 GB · 30 days · US$115 GB · 30 days · US$16
  • Google & WhatsApp: Not stated by the provider
  • Network in China: Not stated
  • Limits: No true unlimited for China; daily plans 3 GB/day then 1 kbps

Source: esimdb.com, checked 2026-10-09

Trip.com eSIM (marketplace) Unconfirmed

500 MB/day · 1 days · US$0.491 GB/day · 10 days · US$5.451 GB/day · 15 days · US$8.35
  • Google & WhatsApp: Yes — the provider says Google and WhatsApp work
  • Network in China: Not stated
  • Limits: Not stated; daily-allowance products; some 'unlimited' tiers capped at 10 Mbps

Source: trip.com, checked 2026-07-31

Buying a Chinese SIM card

Watch out for

More on what's blocked and what works: internet in China.

FAQ

Is roaming or a travel eSIM cheaper for China?

Usually an eSIM. Many carriers charge about US$10–12 (or £7–8) a day in China, while travel eSIMs start at a few dollars for a few GB or about US$11.50 for 3 days of unlimited data. Some home plans include China at no extra cost, so check yours first.

Will WhatsApp work on a travel eSIM in China?

Usually yes: most travel eSIMs route data outside mainland China, and providers such as Airalo, Holafly and Nomad say Google and WhatsApp work. It won't work on hotel or café Wi-Fi.

Can tourists get a Chinese eSIM?

Generally not yet in practice. China's carriers began eSIM services in late 2025, but reports say they mostly require in-store activation and China-version phones. Buy a travel eSIM before you arrive, or a physical tourist SIM at the airport.

Open the full China trip checklist →

More guides